If you have been hit and injured by a car while riding your bike, you first need medical attention as soon as possible. Some injuries may appear to be minor, but you need to see a doctor immediately as symptoms of internal injury or traumatic brain injury can appear long after an accident. Also, going to the emergency room creates a record that you were injured, which is important if you wish to be compensated for the accident.
Next, you need to see an experienced personal injury attorney to guide you through the process of being compensated for your injuries.
Under New Jersey law, if a cyclist injured in a car accident has an auto insurance policy or is named as an insured in an auto insurance policy, the cyclist must submit all medical bills to the auto insurer under the personal injury protection (PIP) benefits provision of the policy. If you do not have your own auto insurance policy, you may be able to file for PIP coverage from an auto insurance policy of a close family member living in the same household. If no one in your home has auto insurance, you would then turn to your health insurance provider to cover the costs of medical treatment. If you have no health insurance, you can apply to New Jersey PLIGA for payment of your medical bills (https://www.njguaranty.org/fileclaim/pliga.aspx).
In addition to filing for PIP coverage for your medical expenses, you may be entitled to file a claim for pain and suffering damages that will allow you to recover compensation for your injuries above the limits of your PIP medical benefits. Currently PIP limits range from $15,000 to $250,000 per person for medical expenses due to an accident.
Like most personal injury claims, bicycle accidents can result in lucrative settlements and recoveries if you choose the right personal injury attorney. I have been handling personal injury cases for over 30 years. Call me today for a free consultation.