A client was recently convicted of driving under the influence and called for advice. New Jersey has some of the toughest laws in the nation for these situations. A driver convicted of DUI for the first time in New Jersey is required to pay court fines to the municipality where the offense occurred. S/he is also obligated to pay a restoration fee to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, as well as the sum of $1,000.00 per year for a period of three years to the New Jersey Violation System as a surcharge.
In a recent New Jersey Federal court decision, a judge denied Wal-Mart’s motion for summary judgment and determined that the plaintiff was entitled to a trial on his claim for personal injuries arising in defendant’s store. Specifically, the plaintiff alleged that he tripped and fell over a fishing wire which Wal-Mart employees failed to reel in from a display but rather left on the floor.
We recently settled a client’s personal injury claim resulting from an automobile accident in Morris County without litigation for $37,500.00. The other driver had struck our client head on, but with nominal collision damage. We were faced with trying to prove permanency on knee and back injuries, with mainly chiropractic treatment and some diagnostic tests.
I am pleased to share our recent $400,000 settlement of a slip and fall accident case just prior to trial. My client had been walking to the train station when he fell on a commercial sidewalk covered with ice concealed by a new layer of snow. He had a significant leg fracture that required two surgeries.
The closing date for a real estate transaction is typically agreed by the parties and set forth in the contract of sale. Traditionally, that date has been a target date, without any penalty if either party is unable to close title. This allows leeway in the event of a personal emergency such as a hospitalization or last minute business trip.